Crochet WIP Essentials

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I always love getting a sneak peek into other people’s creative spaces and processes; I feel like it gives you so much insight into a person’s mind! So I thought that today I would share with you guys a little look at all the essentials I have with me whenever I’m working on a project.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

This little floral case was gifted to me by my lovely friend Bec over at Clouds of Colour which she brought back from her travels to England and France earlier this year – it has barely left my sight since and has quickly become one of my most useful items when it comes to keeping all of my bits and pieces together. I normally have a mixture of the following crammed into it at any one stage:

  • Sewing needles: for sewing in ends and sewing on details to finished items. I always make sure I have a variety of different sizes, and at least a couple of darning needles as I often use fairly chunky yarn which requires a much bigger needle.
  • Stitch markers: I use these so often, whether it’s for marking the start of a round or making note of which row I’m up to. Once again, I have a variety of different sizes and try to always have a few on hand!
  • Embroidery scissors: I used to use a clunky pair of big kitchen scissors until my lovely husband took it upon himself to buy me a few pairs of cute little embroidery scissors – and now I couldn’t live without them! Not only are they so much easier for snipping off those little ends of yarn, they also look super adorable!
  • Measuring tape: this item doesn’t get used as much as the others (depending on what project I’m working on) but it’s still such a handy tool to have at your fingertips!
  • Crochet hooks: I do have a special case for my crochet hooks (more on that soon) but I normally keep my most used sizes in the floral case for easy access! At the moment, the sizes I’m using the most are my 7mm and 4mm.
  • Pen and paper: I always have a few scribbles going on – either as a way of keeping track of the number of rows/rounds I have done, or keeping note of any changes to patterns I make. On a side note, the pen in this photo is from kikki.K and is my all-time favourite pen! It was part of a gift from a close friend of mine and is so lovely to write with. Anyone who knows me, knows I’m a tad obsessed with stationery! Which leads on to my next essential item…

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Don’t you just love this notebook?? It’s by the super talented Bec at Clouds of Colour and is one of the many Clouds of Colour notebooks I have in my [vast] collection! I have a bit of a notebook addiction but I’m always so hesitant about actually writing in them because they’re just so crisp and fresh! However, one of my missions is to start using them a lot more and I’ve managed to follow through on that with this notebook (it’s a start, right?). I jot down all of the patterns I use most frequently, or any variations/changes to patterns so that I have them all in one place. I dream of whole shelves of notebooks overflowing with scribbles and patterns…I just need to be brave enough to start writing in them!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

What sort of crocheter would I be if I didn’t have my hooks close at hand? I’m sure my hook collection is probably a lot smaller than a lot of crocheters out there and I’m ashamed to say that I haven’t tried many different brands except for my little splurge on a few Furls hooks (I have a couple more that aren’t actually in this photo as well…). I would love to try a few different brands one day but my humble grey ones will do for now! My hooks normally live in their hook case which I made a couple of years ago when I was going through a sewing phase (crochet is definitely more my calling though!).

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

And the final item on my list of essential items is this basket which generally lives at the end of the couch (and sometimes behind it) where I keep whatever yarn I need for the project I’m working on (don’t worry, I have a craft room where the rest of my stash lives!). This basket is also really handy for sweeping all of the aforementioned items into at the end of the night, or when my yarn and projects start to take over the lounge!

So, that’s everything I normally have with me whenever I crank out the crochet. Is there anything I haven’t mentioned that you couldn’t live without?

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

